Sometimes Raw Food Changes Me: Raw Broccoli Raisin Salad

I have always loved broccoli salad and it sounded so healthy until I got old enough to realize that the dressing and bacon totally counteract the broccoli.  The last time I tried a traditional broccoli salad, it left me feeling a little sick for several hours.  I have since honored the messages my body sent me and stayed away from it entirely… until I discovered this recipe.DSC_1068This in another rawmazing discovery and if I were to ever meet this woman I would hug her for bringing things like chicken salad and broccoli salad back into my life.  Because it is raw there is no bacon.  I know this is a total turn off for a vast majority of the male population, but it means I don’t have to sit there and pick out the bacon bits (which puts a smile on my face). DSC_1073Then there is the dressing.  No matter how many times I have seen cashews do amazing things, I am always taken aback when they do it again.  Seriously: cashews, lemon juice, mustard seed, oil, onion, garlic, salt, agave.  Everything is natural and well proportioned, which means I have no qualms putting this “mayo” into my body.  Can you tell I really like this?  I can’t help it; I just get really excited about deliciously healthy food. DSC_1082Another great fact about this recipe is how easy and quick it is.  The mayo is just throwing things into your blender and turning it on.  The hardest step is juicing the lemon and cutting the onion or shallot.  The sunflower seeds and raisins only require measuring and the broccoli probably should be chopped into small pieces:-) This is a great recipe to make in a hurry (as long as your cashews have soaked) and it is easy to make in large quantities for family gatherings or when you want some leftovers in the fridge.DSC_1094I left her recipe unchanged… except for one small thing.  (There is always something, isn’t there:-) She included raw red onions in the salad and last time we included them it ruined the recipe for us.  We just can’t really handle onions raw, but if you like then by all means add them in as well.  Enjoy!DSC_1086

“Mayo” Dressing

1 C cashews, soaked at least 2 hours

Juice from 1½ lemons

2 T oil

¼ C water

1 shallot or onion (2 T chopped)

1 clove garlic

2 T agave

½ T mustard seed

Pinch salt

  1. Put everything into blender and mix until smooth and creamy.

Raw Broccoli Raisin Salad

6 C chopped broccoli

1 C raisins

1 C sunflower seeds

Dressing

  1. Mix together broccoli, raisins and sunflower seeds.  Top with dressing and toss until entire salad is coated.  Leave in fridge until serving.

Have a fantastic weekend!!DSC_1104 DSC_1099 DSC_1096

1 thought on “Sometimes Raw Food Changes Me: Raw Broccoli Raisin Salad

Leave a comment