Completely Untraditional: Zucchini Lasagna

Completely untraditional might be a bit of a stretch for this title.  I still used a very traditional sauce!  That is the only traditional item though.  This lasagna is gluten-free and dairy-free:-) Yay!  I can hear all those who share my eating limitations shouting for joy with me… and everyone else thinking we are crazy:-)DSC_0082DSC_0908Yesterday was a crazy day.  It was errands day and I felt like I spent most of my time running from store to store, pause to come home, make lasagna and then return to store hopping.  It’s that fun game we all play it from time to time.  I was glad for my little break at home to relax, make some food and take some pictures.  It was a welcome break:-)   DSC_0911Time to get to our recipe… we all know how much I love my zucchini noodles and I have really wanted to try lasagna with zucchini ribbons — because that sounds like so much fun.  That solves the traditional gluten problem, but since I can’t do dairy I had to leave out the cheese as well.  (If dairy isn’t a problem for you, feel free to add in a cheese layer or two.)  This made the ending pictures a little interesting because there was nothing to help it keep its shape.  I know they don’t really look like lasagna so just use your imagination a bit and we’ll be set!DSC_0924I didn’t like the thought of just zucchini strips, meat and sauce layers so I added in a sautéed vegetables layer as well.  Why turn down an opportunity to provide our bodies with more vegetables?  Once I made the zucchini ribbons and vegetables I started on the sauce.  It is super simple, but quite yummy.  The sauce is a favorite in our house: meat, tomatoes, basil, seasonings and a little simmering.  Next time I make this I will probably puree the sauce to make it a bit more traditional.  Now just assemble the layers and stick it in the oven to let the flavors mix and the zucchini to soften.  That’s it!   DSC_0927 DSC_0936

Zucchini Lasagna

2 zucchinis

1-2 C corn

½ onion*

4 garlic cloves*

2 carrots

2 medium heads of broccoli

2 handfuls of spinach

Broth

Seasonings of choice

Sauce

1–1 ¼ lb ground meat

3 (15 oz) cans of diced tomatoes

10-20 basil leaves

Salt

Pepper

Onion Salt

Garlic Powder

* The garlic and onions can go with the vegetables or in the sauce.  Whichever you prefer!  You can also add in cheese if you are a dairy lover:-)

* I had leftovers of each layer.  Just stick them in the fridge and use them however you want.

  1. Slice zucchini into ribbons.  Dice onion, mince garlic and finely chop the remaining vegetables.  Sauté vegetables (not zucchini ribbons) in broth and seasonings of choice.  Don’t flavor the vegetables too much because you will be seasoning the sauce as well.
  2. Once vegetables are tender transfer them to a separate bowl.  Sauté ground meat until it is mostly cooked.  Add in tomatoes, basil and the rest of the seasoning to taste.
  3. Heat oven to 350 F.  In an 8×8 pan layer zucchini ribbons, vegetables, sauce, zucchini ribbons, vegetables and sauce.  Bake for 15-20 minutes to allow flavors to meld and the zucchini ribbons to soften.

Remember: look at these pictures with a creative eye:-)DSC_0978 DSC_0984DSC_0977

4 thoughts on “Completely Untraditional: Zucchini Lasagna

Leave a Reply

