The Perfect Valentine’s Treat: Strawberry Mini Muffins

I tried to think of a fun little treat for Valentine’s Day and mini muffins seemed like the perfect solution.  They can make a fun breakfast, a snack after school or a little dessert after dinner:-) I set out to come up with a good recipe over the weekend and was sorely disappointed with my first attempt.  They looked like muffins and even smelled like muffins… but they tasted like strawberry biscuits.DSC_0812The batch wasn’t a waste though.  I discovered that if we put a few in a bowl and covered them with milk and a drizzle of agave it suddenly became similar to strawberry shortcake!  So if you ever make muffins with too little sweetener, you now have the perfect remedy.  My dear husband took it like a champ and told me he still liked them.  I am pickier with my own work and I knew that I needed to get back to work.DSC_0828Later than day I started batch number two.  I added a bit more applesauce, vanilla and agave to make them moister and a little sweeter.  The ending result was what I had hoped for the first time around.  They still aren’t the sweetest muffins around so if you really need to fix your dessert craving you can up the agave or honey to a ½ C.  I liked them how they turned out though.  They help me get my carb and sweet fix, but they are still light and don’t make me feel guilty after munching on a few:-)DSC_0832I loved how quick and easy this recipe is to throw together.  Add all the dry ingredients to a bowl and mix them together before adding in all the wet ingredients.  Lastly, gently add in the diced strawberries and pour batter into muffin tins (mini or regular).  Bake mini muffins for 10-12 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  These are especially great for little munchkins!  A little treat for little bodies:-)DSC_0843

Strawberry Muffins (makes 24 mini muffins)

2 C gluten-free mix (clink on link to get flour recipe or use your own favorite combination)

1 t xanthan gum

½ t salt

1 t baking soda

2 t baking powder

1 egg

2 t vanilla

3/8 C agave

½ C almond milk

3/8 applesauce

1 C diced strawberries (approximately 6 whole strawberries)

  1. Heat oven to 350 F and lightly oil mini muffin tins.  Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl: flour, salt, xanthan gum, baking soda and baking powder.  In a separate bowl mix all the wet ingredients: egg, vanilla, agave, milk and applesauce.  Mix the wet ingredients into the dry bowl and mix until there are no dry spots left.
  2. Wash and dice strawberries and gently fold them into muffin mixture.  Scoop batter into mini muffin tins until every spot if filled to the top.  (My tin holds 24 and the batter is enough to fill the entire pan.)  Cook for 10-12 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool and enjoy:-)

* You could also make 12 full sized muffins, but they will obviously need to bake longer.DSC_0852DSC_0887 DSC_0858

Leave a Reply

